Sacred 2:2-Player local co-op (Xbox)

From SacredWiki
Revision as of 22:48, 31 July 2011 by Slayer89 (talk | contribs) (added link to exp table)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

2-Player Local Co-op

Getting Started

The game manual lacks a good explanation of local co-op. This mode allows 2 people to play the campaign together on the same console in fullscreen.

Game Setup

2 Xbox gamer profiles are needed to play local co-op, 1 for each of the players.

  • Creating an additional gamer profile - Make sure no one is signed in, then select sign-in from the dashboard. Press Y to begin the creation and follow the onscreen steps. The name you give to your profile has nothing to do with your Sacred 2 character.

Hosting The Game

With the 2 gamer profiles completed, your ready to start playing Sacred 2 on local co-op. 2 player local co-op is an offline multiplayer mode, therefore requiring a offline campaign as if you're going to play offline by yourself. This mode also has no level-gap limit, which is a great.

The player that host the game is considered the main player, this is an important fact to remember. Once the main player has entered the game and the saving icon has disappeared from the upper right corner of the screen, player 2 can enter the game by pressing start. A list will appear of the characters saved to player 2's profile. If player 2 has yet to make a character select the top option, which will create a character. This option will go through the same character creation process that the main player did.

General Information

  • Information regarding behavior and quirks of playing 2 player local co-op.

Shared Quests

Fact: Both players get experience and rewards for any quests done in a co-op game session. Catch: The quests only show completed on the host's game. Don't worry! As stated before, you have already received the rewards and experience from the quests when you were playing on the host's game. With the exception of the campaign quests and class quests, there's no real reason to have to redo most quests. Nothing is stopping you from running each and every quest again though, if that is your preference.

Campaign Quests - Even if you do the campaign quests on the host's game, you still have to do them in your own campaign mode game if you're wanting to progress. This comes down to preference of the players. If you play co-op regularly with the same host playing, you may decide to just have a free-world game, maybe even under a different difficulty, for your own individual game. Do whatever you want, really. It is too easy to be misled into thinking that you're limited in how you want to play the game as your character.

Class Quests - The host of the co-op game is the only one that will have access to his/her class-based quests. The guest can help with the quests but will not be able to access or start their own class's quests in that co-op game session.

Host's Map vs. Guest's Map

The host does just that--hosts. The host's map is the only map that counts. If a guest player joins in local co-op with a character that has more of the map explored than the guest, the guest will not get any of the map 'uncovered' other than what their character has actually seen and saved during that game session.

Example: Player A hosts a game and has lots of the map exposed. Player B joins Player A's game as a recently created character with very little of the map exposed. Player B shows up in far away Greenborogh with Player A, a place he's never been. They both travel around in the human realm for a little while and then decide to quit and go to Player B's game. Player B now has areas of his map exposed, but only in the areas he's actually been, like the newly traveled Greenborough.

The same thing happens on the flip-side of this scenario. If a player joins another player's hosted game that has less map exposed than his or herself, the map will be the host's map, lack of exposure and all. You can only go to portals the Host has activated in his hosted game.

While this has no negative effect on either player's game, it is good to understand what is happening when your map doesn't match up with the other player's.

Shared Experience & Drops

  • The general rule for Sacred 2 experience and item drops sharing is that any players in a party will split experience and item drops.
  • 2 Player Local Co-op places both players in the same party, therefore causing drops and experience to be shared between both players.

In other words, you won't get the full experience for a mob kill when you're in a party with another player.

  • Drops have a short timer on them while they are reserved for one of the players, when this timer ends another, longer timer starts while the drop is open to either player.
    • After this the 2nd timer the item will disappear

Experience Table

Experience needed per level

Drop Calculation

To be added

Enemy Level

  • The level of the enemies you'll face in the game scale to the level of the host.
    • If the host is already at a higher level then the maximum level of the enemies in that area, then enemies will scale to that maximum level.

Portals

interportal.png

  • The first player to activate an inactive portal will generate the animation of the portal activating.
  • For the 2nd player to get access to that same portal in their own game it needs to be activated as well, which will bring up the map screen. Just back out of the map--you've activated the portal and that's what is important.

Resurrection Monoliths

activemonolith.png

  • The last active monolith is where your player starts the game. As stated before, this is to be viewed as an individual player action. If the guest player doesn't activate a monolith, when they start their own game they won't start at that monolith but instead at the last one they did activate.
  • During the co-op game, even though the guest player may not have activated the monolith that the host player did, if you both die you will spawn at the host's activated monolith during that game session.

Trading

  • Currently trading in 2 player local offline co-op is not possible.
  • Game devs have stated that there is no plans for this feature to be added.
  • However there is a way around the security message that appears if you attempt to trade.
    • Turn on Xbox
    • Activate controller 1, sign in the profile for Player 1, who is the party leader.
    • Plug in a Wired Controller, and set it on the floor, or somewhere out of the way. It should automatically activate as Controller 2
    • Activate Controller 3, which is our other wireless. Sign in the profile for Player 2.
    • Player 1 (Controller 1) now starts the game.
    • Once Player 1 appears in the game world, Player 2 (Controller 3) presses "Start", selecting their character, and enters the game.
    • Now, when the characters are close together, and "Trade" button appears, press "LB", and the trade screen for each character will popup, so trade away!

Saving Tip

  • With save corruption occurences still happening the following save procedure has had a very high success rate.
    • Player 2 saves game, then leaves after the save icon goes away. Player 1 then saves, and leaves after the save icon goes away.